Inefficiency

Italy.jpgI know that in Italy things don’t work always, but I guess it is difficult to exceed the inefficiency of an Italian school. In the mid July I contacted the new school of my son and asked for a certification of enrollment. They told me to send an email and that they would call after a couple of days when the certificate would be ready. I waited a week and called the school. They hadn’t seen the email –  they obviously don’t use email. During the call this lady at school found the mail and told me that they would call me when the certificate is ready.

segreteria.jpgI called the school again after a week of silence. Unfortunately the person I had talked earlier was on vacation and the other lady couldn’t do anything. Again I was asked to call when the other lady returns to work. Just a couple of days before we left for vacation I called the school. The lady in question didn’t know anything. So, I decided I will call again in the end of August when the school might be open again.

segreteria2.jpgLast week I called once again the school. The lady couldn’t do anything because the other lady was on vacation and strangely the other lady happened to be the person in charge of these kind of services. Therefore I called this morning again. I had to spell the last name 4 times, explain 3 times that my son didn’t go that school last year. The result was that the lady couldn’t find the papers of my son and asked me to call again tomorrow. So, tomorrow I will again call the school.

surprised.pngI just can’t understand what the problem is. I’m sure they have ready modules to fill in and just print them. They have all the information of students there – or at least I hope so. I just have to think about this incident as a new experience in a country that always surprises me – in a positive or in a negative way. However, I have to admit that today I had big problems to stay calm and friendly. Let’s see what happens tomorrow. Unfortunately these kind of experiences are not rare in Italy. Either everything happens smoothly or like in this case things just get stuck and don’t proceed. As an individual you can’t do anything, you just have to be patient and pray that something happens in future and you get your problem solved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

