The beginning of the journey

“It’s not the destination that’s important, but the journey.”       ~ John McLeod

 

So finally I decided that I have to find a new job. I have been inside translation industry almost 20 years and the last two years have been very hard. The trend is to pay less and less, but the time-table is always tighter. So I decided that it is enough!

The big question is what to do instead of translations. Well, a couple of weeks ago I noticed at LinkedIn a job “Community manager” ( http://sproutsocial.com/insights/social-media-community-manager/).- never heard and especially when it was published by an online newspaper I was perplexed. After some Internet searching I noticed that THIS could be something interesting. Suddenly I knew that I wanted to learn more about social media and how to use them. Immediately I updated my different social media accounts: Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Viadeo etc. I also bought some books about social media on my Kindle and then I registered to an online communication course at University.

In this blog I will describe my journey to become a social media expert. How long does this journey last – I don’t know. During this journey I will learn a blenty of new things, get to know at least virtually new persons and probably have moments of desperation. If I succeed to change my work – fantastic, if not at least immediately – patience, I still have many years ahead and the economic situation will get better also here in Europe and especially here in Italy – I hope.

Leave a Reply

